Book Review: They Never Learn

THEY NEVER LEARN | Layne Fargo
10.13.2020 | Gallery
Rating: 5/5 stars

img_4954

Scarlett Clark is an exceptional English professor, but she’s even better at getting away with murder. Every year she searches for the worst man at Gorman University and plots his well-deserved demise. She has gotten away with her crimes for years thanks to her meticulous planning, but on the cusp of her biggest kill yet, she worries that people have taken notice of the growing body count on campus. In order to stay ahead of the investigation, Scarlett insinuates herself in it. Meanwhile, Gormon student Carly Schiller is simply trying to survive her freshman year. Carly wants to focus on her studies, but her roommate has alternate ideas and draws her out of her shell. When Carly’s roommate, Allison, becomes the victim of sexual assault at a party, Carly becomes obsessed with revenge.

Did Layne Fargo just become one of my new favorite authors? THEY NEVER LEARN is a devious piece of crime fiction centering around the theme of revenge. Told through the lens of alternating narratives from Scarlett and Carly, the world of Gormon University comes to life on the page. I absolutely loved experiencing each of the storylines in this book and I completely didn’t see the overlap coming in the way it did! 

img_4653

I think my favorite aspect of this book was knowing who the killer was at the very start. I love discovering the why behind what makes a serial killer tick. Fargo did a great job of weaving an intricate web of backstory with present day remaining the main focus. It’s hard to talk in too much detail about this one because I don’t want to give anything away, but just know this is an addictive read! I’ve heard this one recommended for fans of Dexter and I have to agree. It definitely has a lot of Dexter vibes that keep you hooked throughout the whole book!


This book is available to buy from: Amazon Book Depository

Disclosure: What Jess Reads is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. This in no way influences my opinion of the above book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s